/ / Mukden Palace

Mukden Palace

Photos and description

Mukden Palace or Shenyang gugong, is an important landmark of the city, located in the Central part of Shenyang. Devoretz for a long time belonged to these rulers of the Manchu dynasty, as Nurhaci and Abahai. The construction of the Mukden refers to the first half of the XVI century and is fully compliant with the strict rules of Taoism. Having a strictly square shape, the Palace is topped by a Golden roof, symbolizing the sun, which was associated with the ancient Chinese wisdom and authority of the Emperor.

The first building was laid in 1625, and looks like a small tent, and later in extensive grounds were built additional buildings, added a unique complex with elements of the Manchurian and Tibetan architecture.

In 1644 the Chinese capital moved to full obedience to the Emperor, and he changed his permanent residence to the Forbidden city. However, the heirs of the ruler several times a year visited Mukden and considered it their second residence.

In 1780, the temple complex was greatly expanded through the efforts of Emperor Qianlong and has long been considered one of the most beautiful in Shenyang. After several decades, the temple was partially destroyed, and in 1900 its territory was home to the Russian military, who arrived in China to fight against the rebels of the Yihetuan.

Half a century later Muggulu was given the status of national Museum and landmark made the list of UNESCO world heritage. Currently, the Palace is popular among tourists wishing to learn more about the historical past of China and see with their own eyes the example of traditional Buddhist architecture.