/ / The old town of Krk

The old town of Krk

Photos and description

The old town of Krk is considered the cultural and historical center of the island. The old city is charming and unique. Here all is impregnated by spirit of history, because the Krk — one of oldest cities of the Adriatic.

The city center is decorated with the Old square, it is surrounded by steep hills, the slopes of which are built the homes of local residents. People settled here during the Roman Empire, then there arose the city Turicum. From it comes the modern name of the city. In Krk is the ancient Roman forum, in the middle ages its place was built the Council, the town hall and a beautiful stone well. Another square - Camplin. Its name comes from the Latin word "campus" meaning "field". During the Roman Empire there was a landfill located near the thermal spas. The remains of the colonnade of the temple in the area indicate that in ancient times there stood a very imposing building.

Different parts of the city walls surrounding the city on all sides, and still preserved, were built between the Illyrian period and the time of the decline of the Venetian Republic. The last reconstruction of the fortifications was made in the late 15th century. The most ancient part of the fortifications — the tower of Kuplin of the 12th century. The construction of the Frankopan castle with its characteristic medieval round tower and walls 9 meters high, dates back to 12-14 centuries, and the city gate built in the late 15th century.

From religious attractions of Krka stands out the Cathedral, whose construction began in the 12th century. It is close to the Basilica. Quirin, it is also the Museum of religious art. The Church of St. Krševan is the most valuable monument of architecture dated back to 11-12 centuries. Around its circular base with a dome there are three semicircular apses with semi-domes. Monument of Croatian sacral architecture is the chapel of St. Donatus, created in the 12th century.

The Franciscans first appeared in Krk in 1277. Their first monastery was part of the North wall of the city. The East wing was built in 1910 to accommodate the minor Seminary. Here is a picture of the Renaissance artist Vittore Carpaccio with the image of the Mother of God with Baby.