/ / The Benedictine monastery of SV. Mary

The Benedictine monastery of SV. Mary

Photos and description

Benedictine monastery of St. Mary was built in addition to the already existing Church in 1066. Founded by his uncle Croatian king Petar Kresimir IV. To have survived in the prayer book of the founder of the monastery, at the moment he is in the library of Oxford.

The monastery is the tomb of Vicinage, the daughter of a noble courtier, who left the monastery a young widow and has lived there all his life. She convinces the new king Koloman of Hungary Scribe to provide significant financial aid to the monastery, so that its territory fairly quickly were built several buildings for worship, as well as for domestic needs of the monks. Royal support helped build and unique vaulted space of the Church and the Romanesque tower Koloman in 1105. In 1507, the Church has made the portal in the Renaissance style. The interior decoration was made in the Baroque style and richly decorated with stucco already in 1744.

During the Anglo-American bombing of the Second world war the Church of the monastery was destroyed. But in the postwar years, it soon restored, and the city of Zadar.

Unique exhibits are stored in the monastery are the ancient vaults of the statutes, which mention the names of all the Croatian kings XI century. The monastery is now updated another curious exhibit: in the grotto statue of St. Benedict with a basket, and cross, the work of Igor Mastruko. Another sculpture Mastruko created the idea of the nuns, a statue of St. Mary, the sculpture shows spiritual feat of the Saint, who was in severe penance in the cave for over three years.

The collaboration of the sculptor with the Benedictines began when the abbess Anastasia asked him to restore the wooden statue of Jesus, the only survivors during the bombing in 1944. The work of the sculptor was complicated by the fact that he had to work from photographs, but he coped with the task.