/ / Pomeranian Museum

Pomeranian Museum

Photos and description

Pomeranian Museum was formed of two museums - the City Museum, built in 1893, and City Museum Susak, which was established later in 1934.

Currently, the Museum is housed in one of the most beautiful architectural buildings of Rijeka at the end of XIX century. Erected this building as the residence of the Governor of the famous Hungarian architect Lajos Hausmanm in neo-Renaissance style. The Palace is located in the picturesque Park. The building preserves the elements of the interior, has worked on many prominent painters and sculptors of Rijeka, Budapest, etc.

The Museum is engaged in collecting, storing, studying and presenting items related to the culture and history of the County and the city of Rijeka. It is known that Rijeka since ancient times is the cultural center of the area.

The archaeological Department of the Museum is the rich collection, which displays exhibits Dating from the prehistoric, ancient, medieval periods. The Maritime history Department maintains a collection of ships and various marine equipment (navigation instruments, maps, photographs and graphs).

The Museum also features a permanent ethnographic exhibition, it is located on the first floor of the Museum. Ethnographic exhibition tells a lot about the culture and life of the peoples of the Mediterranean, the Dinar and the Alpine resort district. In addition, on the ground floor hosts the cultural and historical exhibition.

One part of the Palace reserved for the presentation of the furniture and utensils of the Renaissance. It exhibits the decoration of glass, ceramic, metal. Special attention in this collection noteworthy collection of watches, the watches here are created from the XVIII to the XX century. These watches were created by outstanding masters of France, England, Switzerland and Hungary.

Part of the Museum is reserved for painting, is preserved a collection of portraits of prominent residents of Rijeka - rulers, officials, nobles, etc. Portraits written by the famous foreign and local artists.

Museum visitors can see a unique collection of Franjo Kresnicka, doctor of Susak, which was on top of the famous violin maker.

On the second floor of the Museum houses a collection of locks, keys, chains, and a gallery showcasing the work of famous sculptors (XV-XIX centuries).