/ / The Monastery Of St. Mary

The Monastery Of St. Mary

Photos and description

A small islet of St. Mary in the Big lake of Mljet island is famous above all are the Benedictine monastery with the Church of St. Mary. For a long time the monastery was used as a hotel, but now he returned the original form.

The monastery dates from the 12th century, during its existence, was rebuilt several times. Today is a two-storey Renaissance building in the middle of a wide yard, in the Southeast corner which was built as a defensive tower. It should be noted that all the buildings of the metochion of the monastery, even the Church, were fitted with defensive devices. The monastery fell into disrepair in 1869. There is a legend that the monks cursed the island population.

The most famous inhabitants of the monastery - the poets of Dubrovnik Ignat Djurdjevic and Mavro, Petranovich and Byzantine Anselmo Banduri.

The main building of the monastery complex - Church of St. Mary. This is a monumental single-nave Basilica with a prismatic dome, which is characterized by blind arcades on all sides and triangular pediments. In the interior of the Church preserved floor in the center of which the outlet and in the side nave, the unique masonry in a pattern of before.