/ / City Museum Nina

City Museum Nina

Photos and description

In the late 19th century archaeologist Michael Glavinic began to explore NIN. The case of Glavinica continued Luke Jelic, whose work was crowned with success - in 1910, was discovered the ruins of the Church. Exposition of stone monuments called "Antique collection" opens to a stone cross, discovered in the excavations of this Church. Among the exhibits one can see fragments of the early medieval monuments.

In 1958 the national Council of NIN has transferred the collection of the Archaeological Museum of Zadar for the presentation and preservation of monuments. In the same year, the then Director of the Museum started construction work in the Nina. In 1960 he opened the first permanent exhibition of the city Museum, called "Local collection of NIN". Then for the first time in NIN were exhibited in a small archaeological material from prehistoric, Roman and early medieval periods. During 1970 and 1971 the collection was supplemented with new exhibits.

In 1991, early in the war, the archaeological material was removed and stored in a safe place, while the stone monuments were left outdoors, but the guardians of the Museum everything possible was done to save them. After the war due to dilapidation of the building Museum's collection were not returned to their original place. And in 1997 was the start of the reconstruction of the building, as well as changes in the main collection. A new permanent exposition was opened in 1999.

Today the Museum exposition is located in seven separate rooms. The Museum exhibits tell and cover all significant historical periods associated with the development of NIN. Each of these periods is divided into several thematic sections, accompanied by a number of archaeological materials, reconstructions, models and photographs of the area taken by aerial survey.

In 2005 the Museum was renamed the Museum of antiquities Nina.