/ / The Town Of Lastovo

The Town Of Lastovo

Photos and description

The town of Lastovo, built on the homonymous island, situated at the foot of the mountain. Its buildings in the Renaissance style are mostly dated 15-16 centuries. Now there are about forty residential buildings having architectural value and is one of the most peculiar variants of housing construction on the territory of Dalmatia. Most of them have high broad terraces which have become the local "brand".

Widespread use of stone as a material for decoration of courtyards and street furniture. Characteristic island architecture - the so-called fumari. This is reminiscent of the minarets unique house tube. Despite the similarity with the Eastern architectural motifs, no record of Arab or Turkish influence here is not detected.

In the 17th century on the island for the first time was born the tradition to erect fumari, and has been for several centuries the locals make every effort to ensure that their Pumar was not like the others. So brownies pipe Lastovo decent private tours for detailed study.

Near the town is the lighthouse built on Lastovo's southern tip in 1839 it is the oldest lighthouse in Croatia.

The main temple Lastovo - saints Cosmas and Damian, is located in the oldest part of the town of Lastovo and dates from the 14th century. This parish Church was the community gathering spot Lastovo. Previously in its place was a small Church, construction of which belong to the 5th or 6th centuries. The Central nave Dating to the 15th century, the side aisles were added in the 16th and 17th, and a picturesque facade in Gothic style was built in the 18th century. The main altar of the temple is decorated with images of saints Cosmas and Damian, written in 1633 by Giovanni Lanfranco. Next - five small paintings depicting the Creator, St. Paul, St. Joseph and Jerome, the work of Giovanni Crivelli. Other paintings made in 1545, represent the work of an anonymous Venetian artist.

The Church of St. Vlaho the 12th century is located at the entrance to the settlement. Beside it, the chapel of St. John, which was built in 1607. And around the Church are still preserved defence wall with a tower.

Another attractive architectural landmark - the little Church of St. Mary on the southern edge of the cemetery dates from the 14th century. Near the ferry archaeologists discovered the remains of the Church of the 6th century, dedicated to St. Peter.