/ / Lighthouse Benodet: photo description (Phare de Benodet)

Lighthouse Benodet: photo description (Phare de Benodet)

Benodet is a small port town in the Northwest of France, Brittany region. Interestingly, it is located on the territory of the Western Department of the country of Finistère, whose name means "land's end". The nearest major town is the capital of the Department, Quimper, which is 16 kilometers.

In the city home to about three thousand people, while the population increases in the summer. Benodet has a rich history - the first settlement on the site appeared in the Neolithic age. The city has preserved several historic medieval churches, but most of the buildings belong to the period of the "Belle Epoque" - the end of XIX - beginning of XX centuries, when Benodet and became known as a popular seaside resort that is part of the so-called "Breton Riviera".

Among the attractions of the historical period it is worth noting urban lighthouse, also known as Big beacon. It stands on the left Bank of the river Ode, known for its fast currents. The building is painted white and is 39 meters high. The first lighthouse at this site appeared 15 Dec 1848, when his height was less than 10 meters. Near this lighthouse is an elegant stone house, where lived the superintendent, and on the other side of the river stands another lighthouse.

May 15, 1887, the height of the lighthouse was increased, and he was again put into action. He was half destroyed on 10 August 1944 during a German air attack. The lighthouse was restored only in 1950. He gives a flash of white light at intervals of 12 seconds. Since 1993 he switched to the automatic control mode, and therefore the presence of the caretaker ceased to be necessary.

The lighthouse of the city of Bénodet is closed to tourist visits.