/ / The Museum of fine arts, Nimes: photo description (Musee des beaux-arts de Nimes)

The Museum of fine arts, Nimes: photo description (Musee des beaux-arts de Nimes)

The Museum of fine arts, Nimes was founded in 1821 and was at first located within the walls of the Roman temple Maison carrée. But the collection kept growing, so pretty soon he began to build a new building into which he moved in 1907.

A new building was erected close to the Roman amphitheatre, the project architect was Max Ravel. 80 years later a new building was reconstructed on the project of Jean-Michel Wilmot.

Initially, the core of the Museum's collection were items from the Roman era, which were kept in private collections. Also in the Museum from his days in the walls of the Maison carrée was stored paintings. To date, the Museum collection includes over three and a half thousand works by French, Flemish, Italian and Dutch masters in the period from XV to XIX century. One of the most famous authors of this Museum is the Peter Paul Rubens.

The most valuable artifact from the Roman period, preserved in the Museum, recognized as a mosaic painting "marriage of admet", which was sealed by known in ancient mythology story. With this happy event in the life of the beloved of the gods, Admetus began serious testing. Forgetting to sacrifice to Artemis, Admetus had to say goodbye to life, but instead in the realm of the dead descended beloved wife Alcestis. Return it helped a friend of Admetus, Heracles, and this act described, among other of his famous deeds. Unique work was discovered by accident during the construction of the market in 1884. Mosaic exhibited for public viewing in the Central part of the main hall.