/ / Diocesan Museum: photos, description (Dioezesanmuseum Bamberg)

Diocesan Museum: photos, description (Dioezesanmuseum Bamberg)

The diocesan Museum of Bamberg located in the Cathedral, in the former Treasury, opened in 1731-1733 years on the site of the former home of the Chapter. The opening of the Museum was planned for 1907, but it was only in 1966.

The Museum presents thousands of years of history Bamberg: as the masterpieces of Gothic and Baroque, and the objects of everyday life of an ordinary city priest. Among the monuments of art is worth noting the ivory crucifix of the XII century and the processional sculpture of the virgin Mary of the XVII century. Interestingly, some vestments and Church items used during religious ceremonies to this day.

Among the exhibits, have the highest historical value, it should be noted medieval gown with stars belonging to the Royal couple, who founded Bamberg - king Henry II the Saint and Queen married kunigunde. Also it exhibits the earliest surviving papal regalia - they belonged to Pope Clement II, German by birth, was buried in the Cathedral of the city.

Of great interest is the Byzantine tapestry of the XI century depicting the triumph of Emperor John I (according to other sources - Basil II). Previously, this exquisite silk fabric adorned the walls of St. Sophia Cathedral in Constantinople, and then she was handed as a gift to Bishop Gunther of Bamberg, who took part in the Great German pilgrimage to Jerusalem in 1064-1065. On the way home the Bishop died, and his body was taken home, wrapped just in a gift tapestry. Therefore, the masterpiece of Byzantine art was discovered only after many centuries, in 1830, when in the course of restoration works were opened the tomb in the crypt of the Cathedral. The tapestry was restored and is now one of the most important exhibits of the Museum.

On the first floor of the Museum presents interesting collection of rosary and Church utensils made of ordinary people. Them or used during religious processions, or they were donated to the Cathedral. Here also is placed the Baroque decorations of the Cathedral, made in 1836-1837 years, altar image, wooden sculptures. On the top floor is an exhibition of Gothic art. In the covered gallery exhibited samples of ancient writing, executed on the stone slabs of the XII century, and sculpture of the XIII century, including from other city churches.