/ / The Chapel Of St. Valentine: photo description (Valentinskapelle)

The Chapel Of St. Valentine: photo description (Valentinskapelle)

Almost six centuries of its existence, the chapel of SV. Valentine repeatedly passed from hands in hands of different people and churches, changed its purpose and appearance. Probably no Church building of Ulm has such a rich history.

In the 13th and 14th century on the spot where now stands the chapel of St. Valentine were a huge monastic wine cellar, because Ulm at the time was a "transit point" in the trade of sparkling wine. In 1458 a resident of Henry Rembold built a chapel and family burial vault, the crypt of which was used the same wine cellar. A small Catholic Church was consecrated in honor of St. Valentine, the patron Saint of the kind of Rambaldo. After the reformation the choir has lost its spiritual purpose and was used by the townspeople as a beer warehouse, packing yarn and other needs. During this period, the chapel has even earned him the nickname "Greasy chapel" for keeping it 1200 pounds of fat, purchased by the city Council for the needy.

Save the chapel of San. Valentines from rebuilding or demolition during the restructuring of the Cathedral square, in the late 19th century it was bought at auction Ulm art teacher Eduard Mauch. He subsequently began the first restoration of the Church.

After the second world war (during which the basement of the chapel was used as a bomb shelter) began a revival as a cult building. In 1945 the chapel was occupied by the Russian Orthodox Church, which had at that time a pretty large community. After its collapse in the chapel performed the service, the Greeks and the Serbs. Since 1994, the chapel of St. Valentine is back in the jurisdiction of the Russian Orthodox Church.