/ / Museum of antiquities: photos, description (Altes Museum)

Museum of antiquities: photos, description (Altes Museum)

The Museum of antiquities is considered to be the primary source when creating a centre of culture and historical heritage of Germany, situated on the Museum island, washed by the river spree. Until 1845 it was called the Royal Museum, as the exhibits collection of exhibits was the collection of the king of Prussia Friedrich Wilhelm III.

The magnificent building was built in the period from 1822 to 1830, a talented architect Karl Friedrich Schinkel. The neoclassical style Museum was a perfect fit for the exhibition of the Royal art collection. After opening to the public, it was replenished very valuable pieces of art, and also materials which were transferred from various archaeological expeditions, where German scientists.

The Museum of antiquities will plunge into the atmosphere of Ancient Greece and early Rome, and enjoy the exposition, which is devoted to Etruria, which was made available to the public only in 2010, and to see a real world treasure in the form of a unique Fayum portraits. Despite the fact that the Museum was badly damaged during the Second world war, it was restored and brought back to original form except for the dome of the building. Originally the upper part of the building had the form of a precise hemisphere, the model for this was the dome of the Pantheon in Rome, but after the reconstruction it was carried out in the form of powellites.

The Museum of antiquities stands on a special pedestal, which gives it a very imposing sight. The building was designed to protect it from frequent floods. For the erection of such magnificent buildings, a sample of which was chosen the Athenian Stoa, the architect had to change the channel of the river spree, to increase the area for construction.