/ / The residence of the bishops: photos, description Wuerzburger Residenz)

The residence of the bishops: photos, description Wuerzburger Residenz)

Huge architectural complex - the Residence of bishops is located in the centre of the Old town. This building was built in 1720-1744 years by decree of the two cardinals, the brothers Johann Philipp Franz and Friedrich Karl von schönborn. Construction was led by two architects von Hildenbrandt and the background of the Welsh.

But the Residence became famous for its unique Grand staircase, designed by architect Balthasar Neumanna. The arch over this Baroque staircase adorns the world's largest mural works by the Venetian painter Giovanni Battista Tiepolo.

In the Imperial hall of the Palace of Tiepolo's frescoes on subjects from the history of würzburg, including portraits of artists, architects, sculptors who worked in the Palace. The huge Garden hall is decorated with stucco decorations of Antonio Bossi. The Venetian room is decorated by a tapestry with the image of the Venetian carnival and decorative panels with paintings of Johann Thalhofer.

Special impression leaves the inspection of the Palace chapel, the interior of which is richly decorated with paintings, sculptures and stucco. In the side altars of the chapel you can see the splendid painting of Giovanni Battista Tiepolo.