/ / An old tunnel under the Elbe: photo description St. Pauli-Elbtunnel)

An old tunnel under the Elbe: photo description St. Pauli-Elbtunnel)

An old tunnel under the Elbe was built in 1911. He first joined the port district St. Pauli with the city centre of Hamburg. The tunnel is a masterpiece of engineering early twentieth century and is unique in its kind.

The reason for the construction of the tunnel was the high workload of the port of Sankt-Pauli. It had to expand and move to the opposite Bank of the river. Officials at the docks could not in the evenings to go home from work, as the only means of transportation was a ferry, which could not accommodate all of the people and was dangerous due to dense Maritime traffic. And in order to get back on detour across the bridge, it was necessary to overcome 12 kilometers. The discontent of the workers resulted in a strike of 1896, and only then the city Council pondered the solution to this problem.

The construction of the bridge was not possible, as it could interfere with shipping and should have been of colossal size in height, to pass through cargo ships. Only in 1901 there was a plan for the establishment of a tunnel under the riverbed. Engineers as example, take the newly built tunnel under the river Clyde in the Scottish city of Glasgow.

Construction of the tunnel cost the city about 11 million gold marks, but it was worth it. The length of the tunnel reaches the 426,5 meters, with a throughput capacity of 14 thousand people per hour. The tunnel is high enough to miss the first cars and horse-drawn carriages. For a long time tunnel "St. Pauli" - that is its original name - was the main means of movement across the Elbe. Just in 1970 opened a new, more modern, cosmitology underground tunnel, and the importance of old slowly faded away.

However, the Old tunnel under the Elbe retained their function. Interestingly, the descent is either by stairs or by Elevator, including the freight. Preserved building North of the lobby of the tunnel: it is a brick rotunda with a triangular pediment supported by columns. The building is crowned with a copper dome. The South hall was badly damaged during the Anglo-American raids during the Second world war. The interior of the tunnel is also quite interesting: the walls are decorated with ceramic tiles and majolica, made on the marine theme.

In 2003, the Old tunnel was declared a monument of architecture and is under state protection. In may-June here exhibit works of modern art, and on the last Sunday of January here is unique in its kind, the marathon, the participants have to run through the tunnel of 48 laps.