/ / Baths on Fimark: photos, description, Thermen am Viehmarkt)

Baths on Fimark: photos, description, Thermen am Viehmarkt)

Baths on Fimark — are the most ancient Roman structures such appointments in Trier. Its name they received because of the location on the site of a medieval Cattle market, 600 metres from the main Market square of the city. Construction of the baths, an area of more than eight thousand square meters, began in 80 BC and was completed approximately 20 years. Skilled builders of that era the baths were designed in such a way that the caldarium (hot bath) was on the South side of the building, and the frigidarium (cold bath) in the North. Active use of therm Fimark ended with the decline of Roman rule, around the IV century. Since then they have gradually destroyed not only naturally, but also became a place of extraction of stone for urban construction in the middle ages.

In the XVII and XVIII centuries in the Eastern part of the ruins by order of the monastic order of the Capuchins was built several residential and religious buildings. Attempts to break the rest of the term monastery garden prevented the dissolution of the monastery in 1802. After centuries of the existence of Roman baths in the square Fimark forgot to re-discover them by accident in 1987 during the construction of the underground garage.

After archaeological excavations in 1994, over the ruins of Roman baths and the Capuchin monastery was built a protective building with transparent façade by the architect Oswald Mathias Ungers. Since 1998, Fimark baths available for visitors.