/ / Church. Trinity: photo description (Dreifaltigkeitskirche)

Church. Trinity: photo description (Dreifaltigkeitskirche)

The rich history of Trinity Church in Ulm is similar to the history of the other monastic churches in the city. The construction, reconstruction, destruction, and restoration — are all survivors of this magnificent building in the Renaissance style.

Outside the city walls, near the East gate in 1281, the order of the Dominicans purchased the land and began the construction of a large monastery. In 1305 the Church of the Holy Trinity was completed and consecrated. In the period of the reformation, which began in Ulm in 1531, the Dominicans left the monastery and began a period of decline and gradual destruction of the Church. Only for a short time, it was revived in 1547 for the funeral of the wife of the late brother Charles V.

The efforts of the municipality of Ulm from 1617 to 1621 under the direction of master Martin Sanzenbacher began almost complete reconstruction of the Trinity Church. In its original form has been preserved only the Gothic altar, and on the old Foundation a new building was erected in the Renaissance style. From 1809 the Church. Trinity became a parish Church for the inhabitants of the so-called "Lower city". Until the mid 20th century the building underwent numerous alterations and changes of interior decoration, including the replacement of the organ. Magnificent acoustics of the room was appreciated, until 1944, there are regularly held concerts of organ music.

As a result of falling bombs 17 Dec 1944 Holy Trinity Church was almost completely destroyed, survived only the bell tower and part of the exterior walls. A few decades later the decision was made to restore the building in 1977, it was restored to its original form is the dome of the tower, the rest of the interior and exterior of the Church was considerably modified.