/ / Porta nigra: photos, description (Porta Nigra)

Porta nigra: photos, description (Porta Nigra)

The Porta nigra, which means "Black gate", considered to be the hallmark of Trier and listed in the List of world heritage of humanity by UNESCO. Built in the year 180 in the heyday of the Roman Empire, they are the oldest surviving fortification in Germany. Trier at that time, still called the "Northern Rome", was surrounded by a high wall with four gates. The only surviving and today are striking in their power and Majesty. Their width is 36 meters, height 30 meters and a depth of 21.5 meters.

Contrary to their name, the Porta nigra was built of white stone, darkened by time. 7200 boulders unique structures, each weighing up to 6 tons, joined without cement: thoroughly customized they were connected with iron cramps and was fixed with liquid tin. During the middle ages for the sake of metal these brackets are partially pulled through the holes. But, despite numerous wars and looting, the building was completely intact.

Legend connects this Black safety gate with a hermit monk Simeon, who lived in them with 1028 at 1035 years, and was buried, according to his will, under the gate. After his death, to the Porta nigra was built a Church called the Church of St. Simeon. By order of Napoleon in 1803, the Church was almost completely destroyed, and the gate acquired its original appearance. Today the Porta nigra is a Museum.