/ / Museum of applied arts: photo, description Museum of Applied Arts)

Museum of applied arts: photo, description Museum of Applied Arts)

Museum of applied art opened in the presence of Emperor Franz Joseph in the year of celebration of the 1000th anniversary of Hungary on 25 October 1896 in the building of the architects of Eden Lechner and Gyula Partosa, built in the style of the secession. The Museum possesses a striking distinctive feature - the emerald roof tiles from the Zsolnay. During the Second world war the building had suffered serious damage (the main entrance, the main dome, the glass of the great hall), which were restored in 1949.

In the expositions of the Museum are kept unique works of Hungarian and European art from the XVI century and up to modern times: glassware, ceramic factory Zsolnay", textile items, clothes (velvet, brocade, wool, lace, leather), bronze, porcelain, musical instruments, wooden carved boards for printing on fabrics, jewelry, Cutlery, watches, family treasures of the esterházy family.