/ / City hall: photos, description (City Hall)

City hall: photos, description (City Hall)

The city hall in Szeged is an eclectic building in neo-Baroque style in the Central square of the city. Its foundations were laid in 1799 under the guidance of architects Istvan and Janos Medresa of Sforza. In 1883, after the flood the building was rebuilt on the original Foundation according to the project Odon Lechner and Gyula Partos. The municipality is linked to the neighbouring House of the Soviets "Bridge of sighs" gallery, built for the visit of Franz Joseph in 1883, when the Emperor came to assess the results of a Grand flood of 1879. During his stay in Szeged chambers of the king and his companions were in different buildings, a bridge connected two buildings for the convenience of the message.

The building is interesting for its beautiful stained glass Windows and ornaments that adorn the stairs. One of them kept saying, the probable authorship of which belongs to Franz Joseph: "Szeged will be more gorgeous than ever was before!"

The walls of the Council chamber decorated with paintings. and the ceiling - frescoes of Zsigmondy Wajda. In summer the charming courtyard of the town hall hosts chamber music concerts and musical evenings.