/ / Island of Garda: photo description (L'isola di Garda)

Island of Garda: photo description (L'isola di Garda)

The island of Garda is the largest island of the Italian lakes Garda, located a few hundred meters from the promontory of San Fermo, which divides the Gulf of Salò and the Bay Smeraldo. The length of the island - about a kilometer, width - 600 meters. Its southern shore is a ridge of reefs and shoals and small island of San Biagio.

It is known that in the era of Ancient Rome to the Garda there was a settlement, and the discovered gravestones, now exhibited in the Roman Museum in Brescia. Then the island was known as the Insula Cranie. The settlement was abandoned almost immediately after the fall of the Roman Empire, and for a long time the island was a kind of hunting. At the end of the 9th century it became the property of the Abbey of San Zeno, and three hundred years later by order of Emperor Frederick Barbarossa came into the possession of the family Yes Manerba.

In 1220 the Garda visited the famous Italian religious leader St. Francis of Assisi, who was so impressed by the beauty of the island that he came up with the idea of establishing a monastery. He persuaded the owners of the island base in the Northern part of a small skit, which lasted two centuries and in 1429 was turned into a full-fledged monastery. This event made the island of Garda, an important religious center for some time. They say he even visited St. Anthony of Padua and the great Dante Alighieri. In the 16th century the Church life of the island began to decline, and in 1778 on the orders of Napoleon, the monastery was closed.

Over its long history, the island changed its name - it was known as the Island of the Monks, the island of Leckie, Scotti island, de Ferrari island and the island of Borghese. In 1927, the Isle of Garda came into the possession of the family Cavazza, whose property it remains to this day.

In 2002, the island was opened for tourists who can explore this unique Venetian Villa in neo-Gothic style, built in the early 20th century by architect Luigi friend barb.. This impressive building is highly rich in a variety of architectural elements. Inside houses a painting by 18th-century Carlo Carloni. Below the Villa on the hillside leading down to the lake shore, a beautiful garden with exotic plants and spectacular flowers. The Villa itself is surrounded by pine trees, cypresses, Acacias and lemon trees, magnolias and agaves.