/ / Palazzo Borghese: photo description (Palazzo Borghese)

Palazzo Borghese: photo description (Palazzo Borghese)

Palazzo Borghese is a Palace in Rome, seat of the Borghese family. Known by the nickname Il Cembalo ("the harpsichord") due to its trapezoidal shape. The narrow facade facing the Tiber. The main entrance to the building is located on the opposite side - "the keys of the harpsichord". Through both entrance to the large courtyard, one side of which are two-level gallery with Doric and ionic columns.

It is believed that the construction of the Palazzo began in the mid-16th century for Monsignor himself Tommaso del Giglio, whose coat of arms is preserved above the door. To 1578 was completed the facade and the gallery. And in the early 17th-century Palazzo and surrounding buildings was acquired by the cardinal Camillo Borghese, later Pope Paul V. Under his leadership was built the second facade facing the Piazza Borghese, and enlarged patio. Worked on the Palazzo and the famous Carlo Rainaldi - 1671-76 years he redid the first floor of the long wing of the building that runs along the Tiber, built a pillared loggia, the chapel oval and narrow gallery with a barrel vault.

Today the Palazzo Borghese boasts a splendid courtyard, surrounded by 96 granite columns and decorated with statues. Here are a Nymphaeum and a small garden with three fountains of the 17th century. The yard is one of the most impressive not only in Rome but throughout Italy.

For a long time in the Palazzo Borghese family kept a rich collection of works of art, including works by Raphael and Titian. In 1891 it was moved to the Borghese Gallery on the same Villa. It is also worth noting that this is where they filmed the balcony scene of the great movie "Romeo and Juliet" of 1968.