/ / Angera: photo description (Angera)

Angera: photo description (Angera)

Angera is a town on the shore of lake Maggiore, famous for its ancient castle, which makes an unforgettable impression. In the era of Ancient Rome, this town, which bore the name of Angleria, was an important port and transportation hub. The status of the city of Angera received in 1497, the year of Duke Lodovico Il Moro.

Rocca di Angera today is one of the most well-preserved medieval fortifications in the surrounding area. Perched on the edge of a limestone cliff high above the waters of Lago Maggiore, he has always been an important strategic structure as defensive, and from a practical point of view. Originally it was owned by the Archbishop of Rhubarb. Then, in 1384, the year, it was purchased by the Visconti family. And in the middle of the 15th century the castle passed to Vitaliano Borromeo, whose descendants today are the owners of Rocca di Angera.

The castle consists of five separate buildings, erected in different years. The square Main tower or Castellana, was built in the late 12th - early 13th centuries. It offers a breathtaking view of the mountains and lying at the bottom of the lake. Near Kastellanoi is the so-called Ala Viscontea - "wing" Visconti. The other "wing" is the name of Ala dei Borromei. The small Palazzo in the style of "Alla Scala" dates from the 13th century: it stands between the outer walls and ruins of the old tower. The last part of the castle, the Torre di Giovanni Visconti, built around 1350, the year. It adjoins the South side of Ala Viscontea.

Among all the premises of the Rocca di Angera with its beauty stands the Hall of Justice with frescoes in the 12th century. Today, the castle houses the Museum of dolls was founded in 1988 year by the will of Princess Bona Borromeo Arese. It showcases over a thousand dolls made of wood, wax, fabric and porcelain from the 18th century until the present day. Part of the Museum devoted to toys of non-European cultures.

Another attraction of Angera is the Shrine of the Madonna della Riva, built in 1662, the year after, five years earlier miraculously began to bleed icon depicting the virgin Mary nursing the baby Jesus. The icon is still kept in the temple.

Finally, you can visit the town's archaeological Museum, which is housed in the Palazzo Pretorio of the 16th century. In the prehistoric section of the Museum displays artifacts discovered in the so-called "Mithraic antrum" the cave that thousands of years ago people lived, and which was dedicated to the Persian God of light Mithras. In the Roman section you can see items found during excavations in the 1970-ies was conducted by the Association of history and archaeology Mario Bertolone. Then was discovered about 70 tombs of the Roman necropolis.